You are here:
  1. » Home
  2. » Areas
  3. » Mythology
  4. » Europe
  5. » Etruscan mythology
  6. » Tarchon


by Micha F. Lindemans
An Etruscan hero who, together with his brother Tyrrhenus, founded the Etruscan league of cities. It consisted of twelve cities: Arretium (Arrezzo), Caere (Cerveteri), Clusium (Chiusi), Faesulae (Fiesole) or Cortona, Perusia (Perugia), Populonia, Rusellae (Roselle), Tarquinii (Tarquinia-Corneto), Vetulonia, Volaterrae (Volterra), Volsinii (Bolsena), and Vulci (Volci).

Tarchon lend his name to the city of Tarchonium, the later Tarquinnii. He supported Aeneas in his conflict with Turnus (Virgil X, 153, 290; XI, 727, 746).

Article details:

  • N/A

Page tools: