You are here:
  1. » Home
  2. » Areas
  3. » Mythology
  4. » Asia
  5. » Japanese mythology
  6. » Shichi Fujukin
Cite/print/rate article
Send comment    References

Shichi Fujukin

by Micha F. Lindemans
A group of seven Japanese Shinto gods of luck. They are often portrayed in a ship of treasures, called Takara-Bune. The Shichi Fujukin ("seven happiness beings") are: Benten, Bishamon, Daikoku, Ebisu, Fukurokuju, Hotei, and Jurojin. At Sanganichi, the Japanese New Year, people pray to them after cleaning their houses thoroughly.

Article details:

  • N/A

Page tools: