You are here:
  1. » Home
  2. » Areas
  3. » Mythology
  4. » Asia
  5. » Chinese mythology
  6. » Long


by Micha F. Lindemans
A dragon in Chinese mythology. There are five types known: the celestial dragons who guard the abodes of the gods; dragon spirits, who rule over wind and rain but can also cause flooding; earth dragons, who cleanse the rivers and deepen the oceans; treasure guarding dragons; and the imperial dragons, who have five claws instead of the usual four.

In Taoism, the dragon represents the yang principle and is often portrayed surrounded by water or clouds.

Article details:

  • Also known as:

Page tools: