You are here:
  1. » Home
  2. » Areas
  3. » Mythology
  4. » Oceania
  5. » Polynesian mythology
  6. » Introduction

Polynesian mythology

One of the three major ethnographic (with Melanesia and Micronesia) divisions of Oceania. It encompasses a huge triangle of islands in the east-central and southern Pacific Ocean. The Hawaiian islands are at the apex of the Polynesian triangle with New Zealand and Easter Island at the base corners. Other islands are the Cook Islands, the Marquesas Islands, the Ellice Islands (now Tuvalu), Tokelau, Tonga, Tahiti (Otaheite), and Samoa. Fuji is also included in this area, because a large proportion of its population is of Polynesian descent.

Featured items:
Oceania, Polynesia, and Hawaii;
Oceania/Polynesia Creation Myths;
Hawaiian Creation Myths.

Map: The Polynesian Triangle.

» Browse through the list of available articles in this area.

Editor: M.F. Lindemans
There are currently 269 articles in this area.
This section was last updated on October 14, 2013.


Related links

Page tools: