You are here:
  1. » Home
  2. » Areas
  3. » Mythology
  4. » Europe
  5. » Celtic mythology
  6. » Introduction

Celtic mythology

Celtic mythology. The religious beliefs and practices of the ancient Celts, an ancient Indo-European people. In the 4th century BCE their influence and territories covered the length of Europe, stretching from Britain to Asia Minor. Celtic mythology consists of three groups:

  1. The Goidelic, including Ireland, the Isle of Man, and the western highlands of Scotland. In language, race, and tradition these form a homogenous block;
  2. The Insular Brythonic, including Wales and Cornwall, also inhabited by kindred people with a somewhat similar history;
  3. The Continental Brythonic, that is, Brittany. Though racially akin to the Welsh and Cornish, the Bretons have had a very differently history and enjoy a distinct culture.

» Browse through the list of available articles in this area.

Editor: M.F. Lindemans
There are currently 242 articles in this area.
This section was last updated on October 14, 2013.


Related links

Page tools: